Role-Based Content

Follow

In the Build Content step of creating your custom email you can create role-based custom content.  Role-based content allows you to display different content for different audiences.

Custom Content
Drag and drop the Create New Content item from the left column in the Custom Content area into your email. Create custom content for your email using the content editor.  This content can be role-based to show different content for different audiences.

NOTE : Saved Content - Editable can also be role-based.

Content Version Name:  Enter a name for the content this audience will receive.  Only admins will see this name. (It may be helpful to reflect the Audience in the name).

Audience:  Select the audience who will receive this content.  (Everyone is selected by default.)

  • Choose from the previously created list of roles in the dual list box and use the arrows to select.
    • Only members who fit the criteria for a certain role (i.e., Class of 1992, Alumni or Board Members) will be able to see this content.
    • Roles customizes what people see in a form. When you choose that role(s), you indicating that only those groups of people will be able to see/not see. It also lets you target a specific group in your system based on a value they have for a particular field.
  • Deny Access to the following:  You may also exclude certain groups from the Audience by using this checkbox.  Then, choose from the list of roles and use the arrows to select a group to exclude.       

Custom Content:  Enter the custom content for this audience into the content editor.

  • Images: To add an image, click the Image Manager .  Choose the image you want for the header and click Insert.
  • Tokens:  You can also include tokens (data fields) to allow for personalization by using the Token List dropdown menu. Using the “FirstName” token will put a personalized greeting using the first name of the recipient on each email that is sent.  Below is a sample message with a token included.

Welcome, ##FirstName##.  Enjoy the latest news!

  • Enter the body content of your email.


Click Save Version.  On the next step you can create another content version and also set the priority in which people will see the content.

NOTE :  The initial content version you create will be forced to an audience of "Everyone" by default.   The audience selection tool won’t be displayed.  The Version Name will be “Default for Everyone”.  It will be automatically placed at the end of the Display Priority and cannot be moved or deleted. 


Content Version Display Priority

Displays the priority in which people will see the content versions. You can adjust the display priorities for all of the versions.

  • The initial content version you create will be forced to an audience of "Everyone" by default.  The Version Name will be “Default for Everyone”.  It will be automatically placed at the end of the Display Priority and cannot be moved or deleted. 
  • You will not be allowed to have the same priority number for multiple versions.


Update Content Priority

Enter a number in the text box beside the content version.  Click Update Priority to save.


Preview a Content Version
Select the content version in the priority list to preview the content.


Create a New Content Version

  • Click Create New Version.
  • Enter Content Version Name. (It may be helpful to reflect the Audience in the name)
  • Select the Audience.
  • Click Save Version. (Check the priority to make sure it is correct.)


Edit Content Version

Click to edit a content version.


Delete a Content Version

Click to delete a content version.


Content Reuse Options

There are options for Saved Content.

  • Save Content for reuse- You have the option to save your content to reuse it in the future. 
    • Enter a Content Name in the text box
    • Save Content as EDITABLE:  Check the box to allow the content to be edited. It will be available in the Saved Content - Editable area under Custom Content.  Uncheck the box, and users will not be able to edit the content, and it will be available in the Saved Content - NOT Editable area.

 NOTE : Saved Content  - Editable can also be role-based.

You can find Saved Content items in the following areas:

  • Saved Content - Editable:  Users can make changes to Editable content after it is placed into a message. Examples: greeting or message body.
  • Saved Content - NOT Editable:  Users cannot make changes to Not Editable content after it is placed into a message. Example: branded logos with special font and/or formatting.

NOTE : Saved Content is also available on the Email Marketing home page under Admin Tools.


Click Save and Load Content to continue.

Related Content

Have more questions? Submit a request