Profile Field Display Settings

Follow

For each field on the Profile form you can determine if the field should or should not be displayed by default on the member community profile and also determine if a member can change the display setting of the field.

  • Private - Fields only appear to the Profile Page owner and cannot be set to display to others.
  • Hidden - By default these fields are not displayed to other users, but can be enabled to display by the Profile Page owner.
  • Default - Fields will display by default to all users viewing the Profile page whether or not the Profile Page owner has registered for the site.  The Profile Page owner can override this setting and choose to not display these fields to other users.
  • Required - Fields will always display on the Profile Page, and the Profile Page owner cannot change the display setting for these fields.

 

Private Field Setting

  • Field shows up when a member is viewing their own account (Manage Account view).
  • Field is not displayed on the Community Profile.
  • Member can't change the visibility setting.

By default, new fields added to the profile from (Form ID 271) will be added as Private.

When a field is marked in the admin tool as Private, the member's account view in the edit mode will display the field with no label to the right of it.  

Hidden Field Setting

  • Field shows up when a member is viewing their own account (Manage Account view).
  • Field is not displayed on the Community Profile by default.
  • Member can change the visibility setting.

When a field is marked in the admin tool as Hidden, the member's account view in the edit mode will display the field with a toggle switch to the right of it in the Hide state.

Default Field Setting

  • Field shows up when a member is viewing their own account (Manage Account view).
  • Field is displayed on the Community Profile by default.
  • Member can change the visibility setting.

When a field is marked in the admin tool as Default, the members Manage Account view in the edit mode will display the field with a toggle switch to the right of it in the Show state.

Required Field Setting

  • Field shows up when a member is viewing their own account (Manage Account view).
  • Field is displayed on the community profile.
  • Member can't change the visibility setting.

When a field is marked in the admin tool as Required the members account view in the edit mode will display the field with a Show read only label to the right of it. 

Field Added Twice 

If a field is added to the edit profile form on two different steps or categories, the same settings will be applied to both fields.  The field will still show up two separate times for the admin when they are editing the settings, but changes made in one place to the field will be applied to the same field in the other place.  Previously, we allowed for the same field added to the profile form twice to have different settings. When we migrate these fields, we will apply the most restrictive settings to the field. 

NOTE: There are fields that are contained in certain steps or categories that will never display to the public. The settings applied to these fields is based on the role applied to the step or category. For example, fields displayed on the Admin Only tab will never show up on the public or account view of the profile.

Changing the field settings

If the admin changes a field setting after the member has set the display setting on their side, the member's field setting will be retained.  So, if the admin changes the field setting back to what the member originally set for the display, the setting will be applied to that field.  

For example:  

  • Email field is set to 'Hidden' by the admin.
  • Member decides they want to display their email address on their community profile and sets the field to 'Show'.
  • Then admin changes the email field setting to 'Private'.
  • The email field will be set to 'Hide' and will not be able to be toggled.
  • Then the admin changes the email field setting back to 'Hidden'.
  • The system will remember that the member wanted to display this field on their community profile, so the field will be set to 'Show'.

 

Video Tutorials
Have more questions? Submit a request