Auto-save feature on text editors

Follow

The auto-save feature saves a version of the work in the editor every 2 minutes, so when you log back into Encompass you have the option to continue working with the latest version.  This feature works on both the admin side of Encompass (Events, Donations, Memberships, Forms and Email) and the CMS side of Encompass. This feature only works in the Edit mode.  For example, if the admin is adding rich text to a form and is logged out because their session expires, the unsaved content is not saved.  It would be saved if they were editing rich text that was already on the page.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Admin Flow

An admin working in an admin editor tool will now see that a version of the their work that was not saved by them - either because their session expired before they were able to save it or they simply closed out of the editor without saving - can be recovered.  When you return to the editor there will be a message at the top of the page stating "Unsaved data was found for one or more content editors on this page" plus an additional message stating 'The following unsaved content from time and date was found' with a Restore and Delete link.  The editor will display the unsaved content in the editor to allow the admin to see the latest version of the content.  In addition, the admin will not be able to enter anything new into the editor until they select the 'Restore' or "Delete' option.


If the Restore link is selected, you will be able to continue editing the latest auto-saved version of content.  Once Restore is selected, you can't go back to the version without the unsaved content.


If the Delete link is selected, a message will appear asking you to confirm that you want to delete the unsaved content.  If the admin confirms they want to delete, the content in the editor will return to what was last manually saved by the admin.  Once Delete is selected, you can't go back to the version with the unsaved content.


If the Save option is selected before selecting to Recover or Delete the unsaved content, a check is in place to not let the admin move forward and an error message is displayed at the top of the page.  If there is not a Save option, then the validation occurs on whatever option takes the admin to the next page.  This could be a Preview option, a Next option or a Submit option.  The admin will not be able to proceed through the flow until they select 'Restore' or 'Delete'.  

If the Cancel option is selected, the editor is closed and you are returned to the previous page.  The next time you go into the editor the messaging with the Restore and Delete options will still show up.

Additional Business Rules

  • A version of the admin's work in the editor will be auto-saved by default every 2 minutes  
  • This feature applies to editors on the admin side of Encompass and on the CMS side.
  •  iModules does not keep an archive of the auto-saved versions.
  • The auto-save feature works even after the admin has been logged out. 
  • There are some scenarios where auto-save is either not viable from a technical standpoint or a usage standpoint.  In general, when adding content to an editor that does not have a saved instance already this functionality will not be available.
    • Auto-save is not available when selecting to View Content (on the Manage Forms page) for events, memberships and campaigns.
    • Auto-save functionality is not available when creating a page through the sitemap.

NOTE: Session timeout is 2 hours for regular web servers (content pages) and 2 hours for administrative and secure boxes (adminlb.imodules.com and securelb.imodules.com domains).  Note that it does not matter WHO or WHERE you are.  That timeout is killed by the application (as long as the cookie is still valid).  If the user deleted the cookie then they will be logged out. For new registration model events and eventually for all form types in Encompass, there is a timer that starts when the user clicks Next on the Billing page and finishes when they click Confirm on the confirmation page.  This timer defaults to 20 minutes and controls how long user billing information is stored.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request